The 2023 Royal Adelaide Vardon events were played on Sunday 13th August. A field of 63 contested the four events, a summary of winners is below.


A field of 54 men contested the Royal Adelaide Cup, which was presented by Alfred Dunhill (Aust) Pty Ltd in 1980. Past winners include Peter Cooke, Anthony Murdaca, Brad Moules and Harry Coote. The Cup is awarded to the male competitor with the best gross score.

In 2023, the Royal Adelaide Cup was decided by sudden death playoff between Frank Vucic and Royal Adelaide’s Louis Fuller, both having shot a 1-under round of 71. After missing the fairway off the tee Frank hit his approach to 12 foot, while Louis’ approach found the right greenside bunker. Louis was unable to make up and down while Frank calmly two-putted for par, therefore winning the Royal Adelaide Cup.

Place getters were Royal Adelaide’s William Arnold (73 c/b), Josh Grundel (73) and Glenelg’s Kade Bryant (74). Kaylan Tyson of Tea Tree Gully won best net with a great score of net 68 while Louis Fuller was second with net 70.

Well done to Frank and all prize winners!


A field of 9 women contested the L.M. Gordon Bowl, awarded to the female with the best gross score. The L.M. Gordon Bowl was introduced by 5-time Associates Club Champion and state team member Jo McLachlan in 1974 in honour of Miss Lillian Gordon, a 4-time Associates Club Champion, the South Australian Ladies Amateur Championship in 1926 and Australian Ladies Amateur Champion in 1923.

Past winners include Sam Holt, Stephanie Na, Sarah King, Sophie Hilditch and Caitlin Peirce.

A blistering round of 4-under par, 69 saw Amelia Whinney of The Grange win the L.M. Gordon Bowl. Royal Adelaide’s Raegan Denton was runner up on 72 (-1), with Bekky Stutley third on 73 (Ev). Amelia also won the best net (net 70) while Bekky was the runner up (net 71).

Congratulations to Amelia, Raegan and Bekky!


The McLaurin Lyons Medal was first played in 2021 in conjunction with the Girls Got Drive event as a fourball championship. In 2023, it was played alongside the L.M. Gordon Bowl for the first time, to be awarded to the girl with the best gross score.

The McLaurin Lyons Medal was donated by sisters, Didy McLaurin and Joan Lyons in 2021 to promote greater girls participation in golf. Both Didy and Joan have made extensive contributions to golf at Royal Adelaide, to Women’s Golf South Australia, Golf NSW and Women’s Golf Australia.

Raegan Denton was the winner of the McLaurin Lyons Medal with a gross score of 72 (-1). Bekky Stutley was the gross runner up, and winner of the net with her score of 73, net 71.

Well done Raegan and Bekky!


The Michael Jay Medal was introduced in 2023 in complement of the McLaurin Lyons Medal. The Medal was donated and named after Michael Jay. Michael is the current President of Royal Adelaide and has worked tirelessly since joining the Committee over a decade ago to grow junior golf at Royal Adelaide. Michael’s dedication has seen Royal Adelaide field MyGolf Junior League and McMillan Shield winning teams, and has seen Royal Adelaide’s junior pool with enough depth field a team in the Sharp Cup (Junior Pennant) for the first time.

The inaugural winner of the Michael Jay Medal was Josh Grundel with a score of 73 off the stick. Kade Bryant of Glenelg was the runner up (74) with Harry Whetstone of The Grange winner of the best net with a score of net 70.

Congratulations Josh, Kade and Harry!